Follow Gerard Edery      

Edery Sings Yupanqui

Homage to a Master of Argentine Folklore

Edery Sings Yupanqui
  • CD | Download Buy from
  • Download
  • Featuring Gerard Edery - vocals, guitar
    Daniel Ori – upright bass
Latino Magazine, L.A.

Gerard Edery, the noted Morocco-born singer and guitarist, is famed for his mastery of Spain’s Sephardic music. His flamenco-grounded guitar stylings and mesmerizing voice add a new dimension to Yupanqui classics.

— Latino Magazine, L.A.

Gerard knows how to tap into this musical legacy with commanding vocals, light percussion, and airy guitar stylings that are intimate, meditative, and alluring. The folksy rhythms are equally dosed in rays of Latin sunshine […]  The thirteen tracks are folk melodies that come from the soul and strike the heart with utter tenderness and solace. Gerard should be applauded for this effort, especially since 2012 marks the 20th anniversary of Yupanqui’s death

— Matthew Forss, Inside World Music

Edery Sings Yupanqui is a masterful tribute to the folk rhythms of Argentina, such as like the zamba, chacarera, bailecito, vidala, and Yupanqui’s other influences. Armed with his guitar and voice (Edery is fluent in Spanish) and Daniel Ori’s upright bass, Edery delivers some of Yupanqi’s most significant songs with virtuosity and richness of detail. […] Gerard Edery skillfully delivers the mesmeric Argentine musical poetry of Atahualpa Yupanqui with a wide-ranging palette of unforgettable songs.

— Angel Romero, World Music Central

Bringing to life the classic stylings of Argentinian folk music, Gerard Edery interprets the sublime poetry of the repertoire of Atahualpa Yupanqui, revealing its cultural depth with reverent sensitivity.  Gerard’s vocal and instrumental virtuosity and his masterful arrangements create an unforgettable musical experience.

Did you know that Gerard once played for Atahualpa Yupanqui?
Read more


  1. Chacarera de las Piedras
  2. La Pastorcita
  3. Guitarra Dimelo Tu
  4. De Aquellos Cerros Vengo
  5. La Flecha
  6. Cordoba Norte
  7. Poncho de 4 Colores
  8. La Añera
  9. El Arriero Va
  10. Los Ejes
  11. Caminito del Indio
  12. Vasija de Barro
  13. Duerme Negrito


More Videos


Frank Wolf, sound engineering and percussion
Gene Paul and Joel Kerr, mastering

Produced by Gerard Edery
Engineered by Frank Wolf
© 2012

More Recordings



Discography, Gerard Edery Ensemble