Follow Gerard Edery      

The Minstrel and the Storyteller

Stories and Songs of the Jewish People

The Minstrel and the Storyteller
  • CD | Download Buy from
  • Download
  • Featuring Peninnah Schram - storyteller
    Gerard Edery - vocals, guitar
    Rex Benincasa - percussion
    Cassandra Hoffman - vocals
    Nell Snaidas - vocals
    Rachel Handman - violin
    George Mgrdichian - oud

71 seductive minutes of Stories and Songs of the Jewish People, in which Schram tells the stories and the minstrel is a magical musician called Gerard Edery.

— The Jerusalem Post Magazine

In this dynamic collaboration, Peninnah and Gerard interweave Sephardic, Hebrew, Judeo-Arabic, Hasidic, and original songs with beloved Jewish folk-tales. Their performance will captivate your heart and soul.


  1. The Innkeeper’s Wise Daughter (Ah El Novio No Quiere Dinero)
  2. Sidi Habibi
  3. The Artist’s Search (Come To The Garden, Shalom Alechem, Arboles Lloran Por Lluvia, Tsur Mishelo)
  4. Arboles Lloran Por Lluvia (reprise)
  5. Why Joha Never Got Married (La Rosa Linda)
  6. Welcome To Clothes
  7. The Nigun from Habonim (Nigun)
  8. Shalom Alechem Señores
  9. The Bride’s Wisdom (Por Amar Una Donzella, Scalerica De Oro, Esta Noche Es Alavada)
  10. Ya Salió De La Mar




Frank English, photography

Baird Winham, sound engineer
Eugene Lavenue, sound engineer in Arboles Lloran Por Lluvia and Come To The Garden
Paul Goodman, sound engineer in La Rosa Linda and Scalerica De Oro

© 1999

More Recordings



Discography, Gerard Edery Ensemble